Apparently tomorrow is Read Comics in Public Day, which I usually refer to as “Monday at the Laundromat” but I’m an uninhibited supporter of holidays that the Internet cooked up, so woo hoo! Let’s do this thing! In preparation here are the two most exciting first issues I’ve read in the past month:

Mystery Society: The male lead, an ultra-rich non-super hero, rocks a little pencil mustache like no one since Flynn. (That’s Errol, not the Flynn you’re in like.*) The female lead beats up undead intruders who turn out to be masked vigilantes from previous comics. (Okay, just the one.) Together, they stage break-ins at top-secret government facilities! And sometimes go to jail. That spoiler’s on page one.

I love the angular art style. I love the characters. (The male and female leads, upon getting rich, changed their last names to “Mystery” because why not.) A very promising first issue, and I can’t wait for the next one. (Parentheses!)

The Sixth Gun: Weird West. I was lucky enough to snag their entry at Free Comic Book Day, which–I point this out to demonstrate that these are people worth supporting–was the entire first issue. Free! If you missed that, the first issue is now on sale for money, and for your money you get: cursed weapons, spirit trees, Pinkertons, shotgun wounds, monks with a secret, weird marauders, visions, Confederates, and old-timey mustaches.** The art is clean and colorful. And did I mention the weird West? This is what I was hoping for in Dead Irons, but didn’t get.

Ready? Set? Read Comics in Public!

*I have since been informed that these are the same Flynn. Funny old world!

**I’m now ranking comics entirely on the merits of the main character’s facial hair. I figure that’s totally legit and not arbitrary at all.

