Pursuant to my recent tweet: I’m cooking Pennsylvania Dutch tonight, and everyone is invited.

This is my father’s mother’s recipe, in the sense that “recipe” means “list of ingredients with margin notes.” I’m going to list the recipe as-is, and then give you the rough amounts I used.

Grammy Davis’s Pot Pie

Meat of choice
Meat broth
Potatoes
Flour
Parsley
Salt
Black pepper

Cook the meat and put the juices in a big pot on the stovetop. You might need to add some water to that, but probably not salt if the ham is cured. Quarter the potatoes and add those. Bring to a boil, then simmer.

To make pot pie noodles, mix flour and water to get a dough. Roll it out to 1/8″ thick and cut into slices about 3″ long x 1″ wide. Drop those in the pot too. Cube the ham and put it in too, just to keep it warm. Chop fresh parsley; into the pot. Add black pepper. Boil “until it tastes like pot pie.” Consume.

My (rough) quantities: I did this with about 1.5 c turkey, 1 can chicken broth, 2 cups water, 1 bouillon cube, a shake of salt, two shakes of pepper, 2 large potatoes, 1 cup flour, a few tablespoons of water, and maybe two tablespoons of parsley. Looks like it’ll serve 4-6. I also threw in a shake of celery seed and some garlic powder. Probably not necessary. You never know.

