I tweeted up a storm tonight, making a huge (HUGE) batch of the chocolate sandwich cookies my family knows as “gobs”. (Other places call them whoopie pies or moon pies; I maintain there are subtle differences.) It took four hours start to finish. It could be easily halved except for that egg in the icing, and honestly you might want to make the full batch of icing anyway, just so you get enough.

Wilma Davis’s Recipe for Gobs

Cream together

2 cups sugar
1/2 cup Crisco
2 eggs

Then add

4 cups flour
2 teaspoons soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cocoa
1 cup sour milk
1 cup boiling water
1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat well. Drop one on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 450 for 7-8 minutes.

FILLING:

2 teaspoons water
4 1/2 teaspoons granulated sugar
2 1/2 cup sifted confectionary sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup Crisco
1/2 cup Oleo
1 teaspoon vanilla

Boil water and G. sugar together for 1 minute
Cool
Beat Conf. sugar with egg
Combine the two mixture, add shortening, beat until creams

Notes:

I used unsalted butter instead of Oleo and then added salt, like a boss. I did make a second batch without the raw egg, but man, it’s not the same.

In my house, we always replicate sour milk by adding a tablespoon of vinegar to actual milk and letting it sit a little while.

Putting down a teaspoon at a time, the recipe made a literal hundred complete cookies. My mom always made them bigger, but I like the mini ones. At that size, I’m pretty sure you’re allowed to eat four at a time. I do not think the little ones took the full seven minutes to bake. I didn’t actually time them.

Don’t let the boiled sugar water cool down very long, because it’ll turn into candy.

And for archival purposes, here’s the Twitter stream that went along with it.

* I’m doing it, guys; I’m baking one million chocolate sandwich cookies, local name “gobs”. #1milliongobs

* The recipe is my grandmother’s, which she got in Johnstown, more than likely from a recent Polish immigrant. #1milliongobs

* Here’s a baking tip: rinse the back of your cookie sheet in cool water between batches. Warm sheets make your cookies spread. #1milliongobs

* Gram quit 8th grade to raise her baby brother. She eloped with Pap before WWII & did factory work until he got back. #1milliongobs

* That’s all the cookies. Now for the hard part. #1milliongobs pic.twitter.com/qc1Tbkwh

* Gram was a farm wife who rarely bothered with recipes, and got inventive: she once made jelly out of the violets in her yard. #1milliongobs

* According to my dad, the violet jelly was a beautiful shade of lavender and pretty much tasted like sugar. #1milliongobs

* Assembled gobs. #1milliongobs pic.twitter.com/bCK1kcd2

* Gram died when I was 12, after years of poor health. Anything I know about her cooking came through my parents. #1milliongobs

* And the final gob count is…EXACTLY ONE MILLION! Haha, no it’s not, it’s ninety-five. #1milliongobs

