Ooh, people. I have had it with aphids. I thought I eradicated them two weeks ago. Not only did they spring back, but the cure did as much damage as the bugs. You’d cry if you saw the way the leaves are chewed through. The second treatment went on Sunday. Until that takes hold I’ll be smooshing the little buggers one by one. I am become Death, destroyer of aphids.

Let’s have some horror mini-reviews.

Poltergeist (1982) – 3 – Painfully slow first half and an intense and interesting second half. I’m fascinated by how pacing has changed in the past half-century. I couldn’t even watch Becket, and I love the screenplay so much I must have read it six times. This may be the last movie on my checklist of must-see, genre-defining early works. (“Early”, heh.) I don’t feel compelled to watch any sequels.

Dagon (2001) – 2 – Both elevated and damaged by a yapping nerd of a protagonist. Missable.

Lost Tribe (2010) – 3 – Engaging but frustrating. There’s nothing here you couldn’t find done better in another movie, although the exact permutation of elements is unique. Did you like The Descent but wish it starred yuppies with a side of Evil Catholics? Okay then.

Necrosis (2010) – 3 – I’ve seen worse entries in this category (young adults go to remote cabin to vacation/be slaughtered). Don’t be put off (or encouraged) by the historical opener; the rest of the movie doesn’t touch it. Worth it for James Kyson Lee.

Daybreakers (2009) – 4 – This might be the widest-released movie I’ve seen lately, and to be unfair to the others, the budget difference shows. This has a sleek, stylish look, decent acting across the board, and is stuffed with neat ideas. The final piece of the world-building puzzle is a weird one, but it didn’t ruin the picture for me. More action than horror.

Beneath the Dark (2010) – 3 – Category: young couple checks into creepy motel. This has much to commend it and many flaws. It doesn’t work, but it doesn’t suck. It makes me want to pat the movie on the head and bless it for trying.

